All You Wanted to Know About Yoga For Health And Happiness

Saturday, October 24, 2009

Karma Yoga

Karma Yoga is described in great detail in the Bhagavad Gita.
The main principles of karma yoga include (a) never giving and never failing in one's duty and (b) looking equally upon opposites such as success and failure, pleasure, and pain heat and cold etc.. without being affected or swayed away by them.

Bhakti Yoga

BHAKTI YOGA Is the Oldest Variety of yoga in which the person practicing it invokes the creator of the universe to shower grace and compassion.
This grace and compassion is meant to help the devotee overcome all the trails and hardships of living.
Practice of Bhakti Yoga includes prayer, worship, observing austerities and abstinence,and practice of virtue.
In the middle ages in India, many saints cultivated the way of devotion as a mass-movement.

Wednesday, October 21, 2009

What Is The Purpose Of Yoga?

In recent times, yoga is mainly looked upon as a set of techniques useful for achieving fitness in daily life and prevention and cure of some specific diseases or disorders.
But the goal of yoga was different when yoga practices came into existence more than three thousand years ago. Throughout its history, yoga seems to have undergone changes regarding the purpose for which it was practised.Many different varieties of yoga came to be practised for different purposes.The main varieties of yoga include:
*Bhakti Yoga (yoga of devotion)
*Karma Yoga (yoga of duty or action)
*Jnyana Yoga (yoga of bodily performances).
The final goal or general purpose of all the above varieties of yoga was the same.This goal was liberation from the cycle of rebirths,called mukti or kaivalya.However,the methods and contents of each variety was different from the others.