All You Wanted to Know About Yoga For Health And Happiness

Saturday, November 21, 2009

Jnyana yoga or raja yoga

Evolved by patanjali involves techniques for purifying the mind by removing impurities through the eight-fold practice.
These include:
1.Abstinence or yama
2.Observances or niyama;
3.Postures or asana;
4.Breath control or pranayama;
5.Retrieving the mind from objects of enjoyment or pratyhara;
6.Concentration or dhyana;
7.Contemplation or dhyana; and
8.Absorption or samadhi of the mind
The above eight-fild path leads to self-realisation (atmadarshana).
The purpose of hatha yoga is achuevement of mental stability by silencing the mind through pranayama.Achievement of mental stability arouses the dormant divine power in human beings called kundalini.Arousal of the dormant divine power enables hearing the subtle sounds(nada) and absorpation of the mind in the state of samadhi.

Bhakti & Karma Yoga

Sit seeks to propitiate abject of worship.i.e.,God.As a result of this worship,the practitioner of Bhakti yoga hopes to overcome difficulties in daily life and/or to remove the hurdles on the path to the kingdom of God.
this is in a way the goal of all religions.
Karma Is based on the idea that by equanimity (samattva) in relation to the opposites (dvandvas), the practitioner of karma yoga can be freed from the shackles of his/her deeds (karma-bandha), and there by attain liberation (mukti).

Hatha Yoga

This has become very popular in recent times.
Its was popularised by the experts of tantra, called the Natha-yogis in the periods between the twelfth and fifteenth centuries AD.
Two main experts who popularised hatha yoga include Matsyendranatha, Gorakhnatha,etc.
Hata yoga is described as the yoga of unity of ha and tha.this means the unity of the sun and the moon in the body or the sun unity of vital airs---prana and apana.
The Purposes of the four varieties of yoga in daily life are not the same.

Jnyana Yoga

Is explained thoroughly in the Yogasutra of Patanjali (Second century BC.)
It consists of eight parts and is therefore also called ashtanga or eight-fold yoga.
Jnyana Yoga includes outer and inner aspects of disciplining and training the body and mind.
It has three important techniques:postures,breath control, and meditation.